NEW DELHI: Lava's official store displays the A7 Star at Rs 1,429 and the A7 2020 at Rs 1,539. The Star is Rs 110 lower. Both descriptions quote a 2.4-inch screen, but they give different kinds of battery information, making an endurance ranking from the price pages alone unreliable.

Published detailLava A7 2020Lava A7 Star
Displayed priceRs 1,539Rs 1,429
Screen2.4 inches2.4 inches
Battery information1,800mAh lithium-ionSix-day backup claim
RAM and storage24MB RAM, 32MB ROMNot specified in page summary
ExpansionUp to 32GBNot specified in page summary
Rear camera0.3MPNot specified in page summary

Price as of 2 November 2026, 00:35 IST. Both official product pages showed sold out during the check. The prices remain useful as published brand references, but they do not establish an immediately orderable phone or the price charged by a local shop.

A small price difference, with an incomplete specification match

The A7 2020 listing is more explicit about memory. It gives 24MB of RAM and 32MB of internal storage, with expansion up to 32GB. The units matter here: the built-in figures are in MB, while the expansion limit is in GB. Treating them as interchangeable would give a completely misleading picture of the device.

For a family maintaining a basic calling handset, this is a more relevant distinction than a long feature checklist. The published expansion ceiling describes what the phone supports beyond its built-in storage. It does not mean the phone arrives with that capacity already fitted, and the page summary does not establish that a memory card is included.

The A7 Star summary concentrates on its back cover, battery backup, display and stereo sound. It leaves several fields unanswered. Those blanks should remain blanks in a comparison. Copying the A7 2020's memory or camera figures across to the Star because the names are similar would turn an assumption into a specification.

Capacity and backup are different claims

Lava quotes a 1,800mAh lithium-ion battery for the A7 2020. For the A7 Star, the store instead advertises six days of battery backup. The Star's short description does not explain a calling schedule, network conditions or the balance between active use and idle time behind that claim.

That prevents a fair battery winner from being declared here. The capacity figure describes the battery, while the days figure describes a claimed duration under conditions the short listing does not set out. Neither tells a reader how long a particular household's daily calls will last between charges.

The same care applies to other basic phones. Our Lava Agni 4 vs Agni 3 price: Agni 3 starts lower at Rs 21,999 examines a separately labelled claim. Its figures belong to that device and cannot be used to interpret Lava's unspecified backup test.

Screen size is the clearest shared point

Both Lava listings use 2.4 inches for the display. Their metric descriptions are rounded slightly differently, but the quoted inch size is the same. This removes screen diagonal as an obvious reason for the higher A7 2020 price. It does not establish identical panels, brightness or menu readability.

The A7 2020 page additionally specifies a 0.3MP rear camera. That is a published hardware figure, not a demonstration of document legibility or indoor picture quality. The Star's summary gives no equivalent camera specification, so the official text does not support a camera-quality ranking between them.

The Lava Blaze 2 Pro vs Blaze 2 price: Blaze 2 starts lower at Rs 8,999 and Lava Blaze 5G price list: Rs 10,999 to Rs 12,999 cover other keypad phones. For this Lava pairing, the verified result is specific: the Star has the lower displayed amount, both quote the same screen diagonal, and the available descriptions do not support treating their battery figures as a matched test.

The naming also gives no basis for treating Star as a guaranteed specification upgrade. In the opened listings it is the less expensive product, with a shorter published hardware summary. The useful comparison is therefore the verified screen match and price gap, while the unanswered memory and battery questions remain specific to these pages.

Sources: Lava A7 2020 official listing and Lava A7 Star official listing.